The value of a talking dog

Talking dogDo we have a way to recognize talent or are we so caught up in what we want that we overlook the genius in our own organizations? One of our favorite stories:

A guy is driving around the back woods of Montana and he sees a sign in front of a broken down shanty-style house: ‘Talking Dog For Sale’

He rings the bell and the owner appears and tells him the dog is in the backyard.

The guy goes into the backyard and sees a nice looking Brittany sitting there.

‘You talk?’ he asks.

‘Yep,’ the Britt replies.

After the guy recovers from the shock of hearing a dog talk, he says ‘So, what’s your story?’

The Britt looks up and says, ‘Well, I discovered that I could talk when I was pretty young. I wanted to help the government, so… I told the CIA.

In no time at all they had me jetting from country to country, sitting in rooms with spies and world leaders, because no one figured a dog would be eavesdropping.’

‘I was one of their most valuable spies for eight years running…

But the jetting around really tired me out, and I knew I wasn’t getting any younger so I decided to settle down. I signed up for a job at the airport to do some undercover security, wandering near suspicious characters and listening in.

I uncovered some incredible dealings and was awarded a batch of medals.’

‘I got married, had a mess of puppies, and now I’m just retired.’

The guy is amazed. He goes back in and asks the owner what he wants for the dog.

‘Ten dollars,’ the guy says.

‘Ten dollars? This dog is amazing! Why on earth are you selling him so cheap?’

‘Because he’s a bullsh%tter. He’s never been out of the yard’

Many organizations we get close to have trouble aligning talent with value. Rare talent is just that…rare. Seek out the brilliant and find a role if you have to…but don’t let it slip away.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Human Resources

Author:Jeanne Roué-Taylor

I'm fascinated by disruptive technology and its impact on our world. I manage sales operations for an excellent startup with a unique team of highly experienced data scientists.

Subscribe to the blog

Subscribe and receive an email when new articles are published

5 Comments on “The value of a talking dog”

  1. Great article Jeanne

    From a talking dog!

  2. December 20, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Great story Jeanne. Nice twist at the end.

  3. Jeanne,

    Please tell me whether or not I got the twist at the end.

    I took the ending as the owner not having found the dog to talk.

    “The owner says the dogs a Bulls417739, inferring the dog TOLD (talked enough) for the owner to claim the dog was lying.”

    “The person wanting to buy the dog wasn’t indicating the dog was valuable for the context of the conversation rather the fact that the dog could speak in the first place.”

    Basically, if I read and comprehend the articles context you are hitting the nail on the head for my own past experience (“myself as a talking dog”).

    Did I add more to the story than your message?

    Lisa

Leave a Reply

