Where I work: I get things done

Getting Things DoneI’ve come to realize my job is about getting things done. Forget processes, guidelines, and procedures. I tend to be one of the people who gets tagged when something needs to get done and get done right without questions, a lot of noise, or excuses.

What that means day-to-day

That means that a lot of my day will be tied up with getting tasks done, bringing others along, gaining consensus, and progressing towards the ultimate goal. It is a lot of work in the “organizational dark matter” that you can’t see but  know is there because it bends light. I personally enjoy working this way, but it has very real implications for me that I have to monitor.

What that means for my brain

I don’t get to focus on many things for very long. I have to make quick assessments and keep moving forward while adjusting on the fly. That ties my brain up for a lot of the day, which means I don’t get a lot of time the just sit back and think. It’s exciting and challenging, and my brain loves that aspect. But, my brain also gets very myopic if I don’t force myself into some more planned, logical, thoughtful tasks. It is always solving problems and very seldom thinking about them.

My time-off is my most productive time

I feel this is why much of my breakthrough thinking occurs when I’m unplugged. When I’m out for a long run or bike ride, or I’m doing laps in the pool. I’ll be thinking about pretty much nothing except the space in front of me, and bang! There it is; that solution I’ve been trying to figure out for three days just happens. Usually about the second or third day off from work on an extended vacation, the same thing starts happening. Solutions come, million dollar ideas (I have a ton of “app” ideas), and interesting things I want to focus on when I get back to the office. I also force myself to leave the building for lunch, just to unplug and process the morning.

It can be very focused in my world, but I prefer it. I like getting things done… right!

Tags:

Categories: Workplace Reality

Subscribe to the blog

Subscribe and receive an email when new articles are published

5 Comments on “Where I work: I get things done”

  1. Ian Gotts
    March 18, 2011 at 2:10 am #

    Compliance is easy. Write down what you should do, and then get people to do it.

    See the problem yet? That is why this article really hits the na squarely on the head

  2. Dennis Pikop
    March 18, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Great Siamese twin analogy. Another thought-neither of the siblings should ever be viewed as the “evil twin.” Typically, if compliance and process are not in total synch, each may be labeled as the “bad guy” when problems surface…

    • Jose Moreno
      March 19, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      Yes, and when the problems are related with an audit from the authorities, the bad guy will be the process and the people from compliance only need to say: I told you!!

  3. N. Frostenson
    March 20, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    As Ian stated, you’ve hit the nail on the head. As a practitioner of compliance to standards, there is an unusual respect for standards, whether they are understood fully or not. Folks run scared of the “audit”.

    BPM is an enabler for the simplicity of understanding, providing a synergy between the two, and the company. People are rarely the fault of poor compliance, it is most usually the system and understanding provided.

  4. March 22, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Nels, I agree. People only know what they’ve been given access to and understanding of…

Leave a Reply

