Making sure this post will NOT go viral

doing-the-gangnam-style-danceI’ve been wracking my brains for a while, trying to think of something super interesting and catchy that would go viral. The more I think about it, the fewer good ideas come into my head. People get writer’s block all of the time, but that isn’t my problem right now…I could write a 100-page software manual if I had to…I just can’t come up with a really big idea. Something fascinating that would get shared and retweeted endlessly…a verbal Harlem Shake.

And then it comes to me: there is a big difference between doing something just to do it, and doing something for value. Trying to make something big is my first mistake…what if I stop and decide to just make something really good instead? What if viral is out of reach?

I can’t make something viral

As much as I want, I can’t make something go viral. I heard it said all the time, “Let’s make a viral video,” but truth be told, no creator makes anything viral…the public does, and they are a whimsical lot. If I simply do my best creative work, the public will tell me what works and I can adjust accordingly. I’ll be hitting doubles soon, and triples after that. Maybe a home run even.

And even more, why should I filter out my own ideas because they’re not ‘big enough’? Putting a filter on my own creativity as a way of trying to have fast success limits me to my own biases. I have plenty of those.

So rather than swing for the fence, I’m going to hit solid singles. After all, if every hit was a home run, they wouldn’t be special and might draw suspicion of steroid use.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Workplace Reality

Author:Kevin Jordan

Kevin graduated from Stanford in three years and is a contributing writer for The TIBCO Blog. Graduating from a engineering-focused university, Kevin quickly developed a passion for technology and its role in business. Still continuing some of his other creative ventures as well, he enjoys doing stand-up comedy and professional acting. Appearing on the Disney Channel and performing on stages from Las Vegas to the Bahamas inspires him to continue entertaining through written word, on comedy club stages, and on television screens. Bridging his creative ambitions and technical curiosity creates the balance he strives for.

Subscribe to the blog

Subscribe and receive an email when new articles are published

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

